What are the Herbie awards and 3 recipients named

College football brings together millions every year. Some of the best players in College football are given recognition every year by College football legend Kirk Herbstreit. The awards have been in existence for a long time, and are given to many categories of College Football participants, be it fans, coaches, players, even to categories like favorite restaurants, and strongest student sections.

This year, there were many Herbie awards given to a variety of recipients

One of Herbstreit’s strongest awards is Unsung Hero, and this year’s winner was Hunter Renfrow, a wide receiver of the Clemson Tigers. Renfrow is hailed for a very consistent input to the offense of his team, with catches and yardage spread across all his games. While Renfrow didn’t necessarily steal the show every week, his consistent and pivotal output earned him Herbstreit’s Unsung Hero award, and deservedly so.

The cornerstone to any great college football program is a powerful defense, and the cornerstone to any powerful defense is a strong pass rush presence. Often, this is handled by individual superstars in a defensive lineup, players that always seem to bring pressure few others can put together. This year, Herbstreit recognized Alabama’s LB Tim Williams as this year’s Pass Rush Specialist.

At the helm of the best college football programs stands the figure running the offense, the quarterback. While college has always been a platform for rushing quarterbacks to make an impact, Herbstreit recognizes those who consistently run the game with their arm. This year, Herbstreit’s Pure Passer award for 2016 goes to UCLA powerhouse Quarterback Josh Rosen. Rosen proved himself a significant player and threat throughout the year and earned his slot as Herbstreit’s Pure Passer award winner.

Recent Posts

LeBron James Sets New Record in February 2018

LeBron James remains one of the best basketball players of our time and continues to strengthen his hold as a legend in the game. He ended the month achieving a triple-double for the first time in his profession after making 31 points, 12 rebounds and 11 assists during the Cleveland Cavaliers…

Read More »

Houston Rockets Have 13 Straight Wins

James Harden continues to make a strong case for finally earning the MVP award after being "robbed" last year by leading the Rockets to a 13-game winning streak back in February. Houston notched their thirteenth straight win in a 96-85 win over the Utah Jazz on the road in Utah. Harden…

Read More »

Stephen Curry, the two-time MVP

Named Wardell Stephen Curry II, the 30-year-old American professional basketball player, who's now widely regarded as the greatest shooter in the history of the sport, is the son of former NBA player Dell Curry. His father enjoyed a lengthy career in the NBA, playing mostly for the Charlotte…

Read More »

Fresh From Our Desk

  • The Best 5 Basketball Team Players for Offense

    Basketball offense is forever changing. Here is an attempt to list the best basketball players for offensive play. LeBron James LeBron plays for the Cleveland Cavaliers in NBA. Standing 6 feet 8 inches and weighing 250 pounds, he is one of the most physical players in the NBA. He has a career…

    Read More »
  • Andre Iguodala brings Warriors to NBA finals

    Times got rough for the Warriors, but it was then that they turned to Iguodala to set scores straight. Andre Iguodala was thought to very easily become M.V.P. of the NBA finals one more time, which he actually did. It was a tough competition against his teammate Stephen Curry. Becoming the MVP…

    Read More »